OK We use cookies to enhance your visit to our site and to bring you advertisements that might interest you. Read our Privacy and Cookies policies to find out more.

Business USA

Dr. Steven Eckert, center. (Photo: Academy of Osseointegration)
0 Comments Mar 16, 2017 | Business USA

Eckert receives 10th Nobel Biocare Brånemark Osseointegration Award

Post a comment by Dental Tribune America

ORLANDO, Fla., USA: Dr. Steven E. Eckert was honored with the Nobel Biocare Brånemark Osseointegration Award during the Opening Symposium of Academy of Osseointegration’s 2017 Annual Meeting. The award was presented by Dr. Myron Nevins, president of the Osseointegration Foundation (OF). The award is given annually by OF, the philanthropic arm of the AO.

The award honors individuals whose impact on, and leadership in, implant dentistry is exemplary in any or all of the foundation’s mission categories: research, education, and charitable causes.

A former AO president, Eckert in 2006 became the second editor-in-chief of the International Journal of Oral and Maxillofacial Implants (IJOMI), a position he still holds.

“Dr. Steven Eckert has a distinguished record of leadership in the Academy, rising to president in 2007,” said Dr. Myron Nevins, president of AO. “He has done a remarkable job as editor-in-chief of IJOMI, extending the horizons of our journal, especially with expansion of the electronic edition. He has inspired professionals in our field to author papers, and we are all grateful for the information IJOMI provides. It all translates into significant improvement in clinical practice and improved patient results.”

In 1991, Eckert joined AO and remembers concentrating on broadening the international reach of the Academy. He is currently professor emeritus at the Mayo Clinic and adjunct professor at the University of Minnesota School of Dentistry. He practices at ClearChoice Dental Implant Center in Minneapolis and is director of research for ClearChoice.

Previous Nobel Biocare Brånemark Osseointegration Award honorees are (in chronological order): Per-Ingvar Brånemark, MD, PhD; William R. Laney, DMD, MS; George A. Zarb, BChD, DDS, MS; Daniel VanSteenberge, MD, PhD; Ulf Lekholm, DDS; Daniel Buser, DDS, DMD; Professor Tomas Albrektsson; Stephen M. Parel, DDS; and Ole Jensen, DMD. The award is made possible by a grant from Nobel Biocare. The selection process involves members of the OF’s Titanium Society to propose distinguished candidates.

(Source: Academy of Osseointegration)


Post a comment Print  |  Send to a friend
Join the Discussion
All comments are subject to approval before appearing. Submit Comment