OK We use cookies to enhance your visit to our site and to bring you advertisements that might interest you. Read our Privacy and Cookies policies to find out more.

News USA

Dr. Alan S. Pollack (Photo: Academy of Osseointegration)
Apr 13, 2016 | News USA

Newly appointed AO president to lead academy in global initiatives

by Dental Tribune America

NEW YORK, N.Y., USA: Alan S. Pollack, DDS, a practicing periodontist in New York City, was appointed president of the Academy of Osseointegration (AO) at the organization’s annual business meeting, held in February in San Diego. He succeeds former AO President Russell D. Nishimura, DDS.

“With the increasing use of implant dentistry, it has become evermore important for practitioners to obtain the best possible information, independent of corporate influence and open to critique and challenge from a variety of dentists and scientists across the spectrum of dental disciplines and scientific background,” Pollack said.

“This is what AO has always been about and what guides our path. We will continue to pursue the best science available, and the best and most efficient and ethical ways of translating that for our members, to provide the best possible clinical care for our patients.”

Pollack has authored numerous publications in dental literature and is a member of many organizations, including the American Academy of Periodontology and American Dental Association, among others. He currently owns a private practice in New York City.

This year, the AO Board will implement a new strategic plan to guide the organization in the coming years. It includes supporting research, promoting education and fostering interdisciplinary and multidisciplinary care.

The 2016-2017 Board of Directors serving with Pollack are:


  • President-Elect Michael R. Norton, BDS, FDS, RCS (Ed), an oral surgeon from London, England.
  • Vice President Jay P. Malmquist, DMD, an oral and maxillofacial surgeon from Portland, Ore.
  • Secretary James C. Taylor, DMD, a prosthodontist from Ottawa, Ontario, Canada.
  • Treasurer Clark M. Stanford, DDS, PhD, a prosthodontist from Chicago.
  • Past President Russell D. Nishimura, DDS, a prosthodontist from Westlake Village, Calif.


  • Tara L. Aghaloo, DDS, MD, PhD, of Los Angeles.
  • Amerian D. Sones, DMD, MS, of Dallas.
  • Steven J. Rosenstein, DMD, of Aventura, Fla.
  • Jeffrey D. Lloyd, DDS, of Rancho Cucamonga, Calif.
  • Joerg Neugebauer, DDS, PhD, of Landsberg am Lech, Germany.
  • Hom-Lay Wang, DDS, MSD, PhD, of Ann Arbor, Mich.


(Source: Academy of Osseointegration)


Related Content
Print  |  Send to a friend