OK We use cookies to enhance your visit to our site and to bring you advertisements that might interest you. Read our Privacy and Cookies policies to find out more.

News USA

From left: Dr. Alan S. Pollock, who just finished his term as AO President, Jay P. Malmquist, who recently achieved fellowship status with the AO, and Dr. Michael R. Norton, who just became AO’s 31st president. (Photo: Academy of Osseointegration)
May 18, 2017 | News USA

Four clinicians achieve AO Fellowship status

by Dental Tribune America

Four individuals were honored for achieving fellowship status in the Academy of Osseointegration (AO) during the group’s 2017 annual meeting in Orlando, Fla. Fellowship in the academy is obtained by demonstrating a commitment to the field of osseointegration. Members must excel in both academics as well as service to the academy.

The first recognized fellow was Dr. Zvi Artzi, a periodontist who attended the Hebrew University in Jerusalem and Hadassah School of Dental Medicine. He is a professor in the Department of Periodontology at the School of Dental Medicine at Tel Aviv University and the chairman of the National Board Scientific Council of Periodontology in the Minister of Health.

A member of the academy since 1991, Artzi is the ambassador for AO’s Charter Chapter in Israel and has served on the AO/OF Research Grant Committee. He has authored nearly 100 scientific articles and research abstracts in periodontology and oral implantology.

The second newly elected fellow was Dr. Jeffrey Lloyd. He graduated from the University of Southern California School of Dentistry and immediately went into private practice in Rancho Cucamonga, Calif., where he still practices today. Lloyd is a member of AO’s board of directors and very active in the field of dentistry. He previously held numerous leadership appointments with the Academy of General Dentistry, Academy for Sports Dentistry and World Clinical Laser Institute.

Since joining the academy in 1995, he has chaired AO’s Membership Committee and served on its Finance and Audit, 2016 Annual Meeting and Research Submissions committees, as well as the General Practitioner and Education Oversite task forces.

Next to be honored was Dr. John Lupovici, a periodontist who graduated from the New York University College of Dentistry. He is certified by the American Board of Periodontics and is an active member of six other dental associations. Since joining the academy in 1999, he has served on its Finance and Audit, AO/OF Research Grant, Research Submission and William R. Laney Award committees.

The final new fellow recognized was Dr. Jay Malmquist. He is an accomplished individual who graduated with high honors from University of Oregon Dental School and is a fellow in seven other dental associations.

A diplomate of American Board of Oral and Maxillofacial Surgery (ABOMS), International Congress of Oral Implantologists (ICOI) and the National Dental Board of Anesthesiology, Malmquist is also a member of 13 other dental organizations. He served seven years as an examiner for ABOMS and was the first president of American Academy of Oral Maxillofacial Surgeons (AAOMS) from the Pacific Northwest.

A member of the academy since 1986, he chaired its JOMI Oversite Task Force for several years and served on the following AO committees: Ethics and Professional Conduct; Membership and Awards; AO/OF Research Grant; two Annual Meeting Program Committees; the Advisory Committee on Committees; and AO’s Executive Committee.

In addition, Malmquist has authored more than 20 scientific articles, five textbook chapters and has presented at least 200 lectures around the world.

Reflecting the importance of science and service embodied in its founding principles, the academy established a fellow membership category to honor those individuals who have made outstanding contributions to the Academy of Osseointegration and implant dentistry in general. Criteria has been established to offer a careful balance of requirements that will ensure it is attainable by all members.

“While not a form of credentialing, the Academy of Osseointegration board of directors believes that attaining fellowship of the academy says more about our members than case presentations or examination of knowledge,” said AO President Dr. Alan Pollack, who honored this year’s newly elected fellows. “It sets the standard for those who take their continuing professional education seriously, have a strong commitment to the field of implant dentistry and recognize the incredible value that volunteerism and philanthropy have to the profession.”

(Source: Academy of Osseointegration)

Related Content
Print  |  Send to a friend